Award Books


Award Books

Caldecott Award

Caldecott Award

The Caldecott Medal is awarded every year to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. 

Colorado Children's Book Award


CCIRA conducts the annual Colorado Children's Book Award to encourage a love of reading by having children of Colorado vote for their favorite picture book and their favorite junior novel.

Coretta Scott King Book Awards

Coretta Scott King Awards

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given every year to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. 

Geisel Award

Dr. Seuss

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.

Newbery Award

Newbery Award

The Newbery Medal is awarded every year to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Pura Belpré Award 

Pura Belpre telling a story to children

The Pura Belpré Award is presented every year to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth. 

Schneider Family Book Awards

Schneider Award

The Schneider Family Book Awards honor an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.

Sibert Informational Book Medal

Sibert Informational Book Medal

The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal is awarded every year to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published in the United States in English during the preceding year.