Depth of Knowledge Text.png

Depth of Knowledge, sometimes referred to as DoK, is a tool that categorizes tasks according to the complexity of thinking required to successfully complete them.

Designed by Norman Webb, the 4 depths of knowledge allow educators to analyze learning tasks in an attempt to create rich environments where all students learn at a high level.

The 4 DoK Levels are:

  • Level 1: Recall and Reproduction
  • Level 2: Skills and Concepts
  • Level 3: Strategic Thinking
  • Level 4: Extended Thinking
A few notes on Depth of Knowledge:
  • DoK levels are not sequential. You do not need to master one level before moving to the next.
  • DoK levels are not developmental. Students of any age are able to complete tasks at all levels.
  • Simply requiring more work to be completed is not equivalent to developing higher level tasks.

For more information on Depth of Knowledge, see the edutopia article:

This article was used as a resource for information presented on this page.

Using Webb’s Depth of Knowledge to Increase Rigor

"Using Webb’S Depth Of Knowledge To Increase Rigor". Edutopia, 2014,